Sale!

Salt To The Sea by Sepetys, Ruta

$19.99 $17.99

ISBN 9780141347400 – Puffin – Penguin UK Paperback 400 pp – May 2016

Ruta Sepetys is the author of acclaimed YA novel, Between Shades of Grey. Born and raised in Michigan in a family of Lithuanian descent, Ruta now lives with her husband in Tennessee. Ruta was a highly successful promoter of classical music concerts, booking and touring with orchestras worldwide, before turning to writing full-time. In 2015 Ruta has been awarded The Rockefeller Foundation’s prestigious Bellagio Center writing residency, where she will interact with other leading international artists, writers and thinkers.

Inspired by the worst disaster in maritime history, Ruta Sepetys, award-winning author of Between Shades of Gray, brilliantly tells a shocking, illuminating and ultimately life-affirming story from World War II.

SKU: UB-9780141347400 Category: Tag:

Description

It’s early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore’s The Siege will be totally absorbed.
This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

Additional information

Weight 280 g
Dimensions 202 × 142 × 25 mm